I’ve headed my blog with the tagline, “Details make the story, so do personal attitudes.” I need to take my own advise about the “details” part. Never leave them out; life lesson! The other half is to warn readers that I tend to have an attitude… go figure…

With that said…

While I was piddling around all morning, waiting for a package to be delivered that had to be sign for, trying not to scream when they emailed saying, “The package that I paid extra to be overnighted, last week, will arrive tomorrow instead” (I’m sure it won’t decrease my rate any). No times listed either. Which means I’ll repeat the process, again tomorrow, I should have seen that coming. I thought that I’d handle a few mundane tasks & cross them off my too do list, while I waited. You know… “Redeem the time.”

I needed a password to email an invoice for my son while he’s on vacation, simple enough, it should have only taken a few minutes, but my memory failed me, I told myself to look it up. So, I did…

I had written it in one of the notepads on my desk (but which one?), a little harder to find than I thought. I found it easily enough the last time I needed it, so I thought it would be a snap today, but… nope. I leafed through page after page of redundant notes, cracking myself up, I doubt if the FBI, CIA or NASA combined could crack my code – slash – notes that I made to myself (I hope they never try). Its funny when you write something down, you’re sure you’ll have no problem remembering what their for later.
[That was after all, the point of taking notes. To briefly rehash them later, For further use, etc. But, NOPE!]

[Note to self: For future reference… make exact notes, no abbreviations, be clear – don’t doodle, don’t mix business with everyday tasks, use a separate pages for separate occasions. So that when you reread said notebooks, a year later or two later, you’ll know what the details were. ’nuff said!]

I did see where, I’m guessing I was frustrated with a phone call or maybe I was on hold, IDK, and gave myself a pep talk. ie: “Silence is one of the great arts of conversation.” ~ Hannah More. Thank you, Hannah. That was written above & in the same lined off section as a ’67 GTO Dayton- Craiglist (Springboro). You tell me??? I do try and draw a line between days/items/events, so I’m not sure where I went wrong there.

Some notes were very detailed, almost boarding on TMI, while others were so vague, I don’t know why I wrote them down at all. I did notice a reoccurring trend throughout the books, when I was overly stressed, with far too much on my TO DO LIST, I did follow it by a little quip [Here you thought it was just how I ended each post on the blog.] Not true, its how I live my day to day apparently… one page was so full of tasks, that in the middle clearly marked with an asterisk were the words, “The blueprints of your ultimate achievements. ~ Napoleon Hill. Its part of a quote that actually goes “Cherish your visions and your dreams as they are the children of your soul; the blueprint of your ultimate achievements.” – Napoleon Hill. Words to live by, I’m not sure why I wrote it. What can I say? I was stressed.

I did however, on that same page, down a few tasks from that, again marked with an asterisk, write the rest of the quote, “Cherish your visions and your dreams as they are the children of your soul.” So I did know what I was thinking after all, I guess, just didn’t get my ducks (or Hill’s) in a row. Sorry, its was that kind of a day. Not to mention, that no one ever sees my notes, but me and I really don’t care.

I haven’t blogged for several months, and I do apologize for that, but I’ve been taking some badly needed time for myself. I did get to many of the emails answered (late) and helped where I could, but giving myself more time to run my own personal life; spending time with my husband and children and their children. I do thank you for being patient and affording me that luxury.

It has been a very eventful few months with a lot to share. If you follow me on Facebook (Not Twitter: I rarely tweet – sorry. Although, midway the notebook was a note to change my Twitter password; seems pointless now), then you know I’m a very busy person, yet I strive to make time for my family and friends and work.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My daughter Mandy & son-in-law Alan have since adopted their daughter Alyssa. Alyssa has been with them for many years and we’re thrilled to welcome her officially into our family. Her suburban home is full of love and lots of children. The official head count is 9 children. Don’t ask if their biological, adopted, PPLA, or full custody. She doesn’t see “status” as a real identity in her family, everyone is loved equally, regardless of their official status. That’s the way we should all be.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Steven spent two weeks in Japan. Nothing exciting to report on his trip, other than he went. He did miss his train, took another, arrived safe & sound. you’ll have to ask him more about it. Although, his cell phone bill almost gave me a heart attack, but other than that, its all good, he had fun. Hi, Yoko!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We should have a few new babies arriving soon. Sarah Wiley (Shay), Cassidy Metcalf and Kimberly Miniard (Scott), are all three girls are due before the end of the year. Congratulations to the families!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We had a Metcalf Family Reunion at the Mound in Miamisburg recently, it was a nice big crowd, 6 of the siblings got together with their families, the other 6 did not. We get too busy sometimes and fail to interact with family, thinking they’ll always be there, but its not so. We lost a few members this year and they will be sorely missed, but we will be welcoming a few more. Such is life.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I will admit being disheartened when my daughter repeated a joke that her first cousin made at her house last month, she said, “Our family should say that their in the CIA… they have to remain private.” That’s just sad. I know I used to exhaust myself trying to get people to interact, only to realize you can’t force people to get together or to love one another. Now, I just say, “I’ll see ya at the next funeral.”… and Life goes on. I am however delighted that the cousins are making a conscience effort, in their adult lives to get to know one another. Its a good thing.

I did get to spend a few minutes with family this weekend; a graduation and a baby shower. The typical Life events that we all attend briefly, not sharing anything more than an “Glad to see you again & How is everybody? Of course, if you know me at all, you know I didn’t get a single picture.

I think that I’m going to have a sit down dinner each month with one or two of the siblings and find out where the problem lies. If they don’t come, I’ll start sending them weekly newsletters, that way they’ll know what their missing. I’ll try and be more concise, if they had to read my notes they’d even stop taking my mail.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I did see in my notes where on 7/29(12 not written), I called “BELKIN” got a ticket number, U & P (I must have had an Router problem?). No other notes, except written in uppercase bold letters were the words, ‘COOL BEANS!” So I’m guessing they fixed my problem. Again, more details are needed.
Hey Patty, Good News… I found your phone number! … its probably to late to call. Sorry.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One page was so vague I wanted to cry after reading it, the top of the page read, ” Flannery O’Connor: ‘The truth does not change according to our ability to stomach it emotionally.'” It only got worse from there. Most of it didn’t make any sense at all. Could be, judging from my notes, a good thing.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I found a quick note about my Cookie Party > Lime Green – Red – Pink -White. Sounds like a plan. I’ll just repeat that again, this year.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I did dog-ear a couple of pages, but after looking at both sides, couldn’t tell you why. On the page opposite (left) of the dog-eared page was a quote that read, “Life is meant to be a never-ending education. And when this is fully appreciated, we are no longer survivors but adventurers.” ~ David McNally. Its written under the name and number of my tax preparer, that can’t be a coincidence.

The other page, right side of dog-eared page, I made a list of Christmas movies I wanted to buy the kids for Christmas, I didn’t get them last year, so I’m thinking its not too late, I’ll start ordering them for this year. Never let a good idea go, just because you didn’t see it thru the first time, doesn’t mean its not still a good idea. Who doesn’t love the 1983 version of “A Christmas Story?” Someone in this family quotes it a dozen or more times a year, we won’t mention any names here. PS: My favorite Christmas movie of all time is “Its A Wonderful Life.” I have to watch it about 8 or more times every year, but that’s just me.

Quickly & for no apparent reason, other than to know where it is later, I’m going to list them here (feel free to skip over this section): Its A Wonderful Life (1946), A Christmas Story, Elf, We’re No Angels, Miracle on 34th St (1940), One Magic Christmas, Muppet Christmas Carol, Joyeux Noël, Gremlins, The Santa Clause, The Shop Around the Corner (1940), Christmas in Connecticut (1945), White Christmas (1954) [What can I say? I love the old black & whites.] Scrooged (1988), Polar Express, Die Hard (yes, my hubby loves action films), Love Actually, The Bishop’s Wife (its not my fav., but I sit thru it every year), Holiday Inn, The Nightmare Before Christmas (kids love that kind of stuff), A Christmas Carol (you guessed it,1951), Christmas Vacation (who doesn’t love that one? Chevy Chase & John Candy – Classic), Babes In Toyland (1934), and last but not least, Home Alone (1990). Who said all old notes were worthless? Just sayin’

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On a genealogy note: One page divided in half lengthwise lists 1840 Adkins. Left side of page contain the names of every Adkins living in Morgan County. The right side of the page contain a list of Adkins names living in Pike County. Oddly enough, all related to each other. [Hum… now if I had only made a note as to why I made that list.] I do however, seem to know every detail of their lives as I read their names, even the ones that were misspelled or seemly so. It was a nice trip down memory lane or up the family tree so to speak. I’ll count that as a blessing. Hope to meet a few of them in Heaven one day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One page contained only one email address, no other info provided. its to a Kevin Adkins with a gmail address. Funny, I don’t know a Kevin Adkins, or do I? Maybe, I should have sent him an email???

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One page is a HUGE NOTE that basically says, “CARBONITE IS RUNNING!”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Last page read, ‘Fried Chicken & Dessert. Hazelwood. Okay, once again, Details.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And on that note, you can see that I had nothing new to add. My life is running like everyone else’s. Busy as a bee or as I like to say, “Chasing my tail.” Just another day at the office. In my j’s at 5 p.m. Going to shower & make dinner for my husband. I rarely get a chance to stay home and do that, and I really enjoy it. No libbers comments welcome. Its my life and you can quote me on that. Just leave me a note.

  People don’t care how much you know until they know how much you care. ~ John C. Maxwell

