Are yours splits-ville or do you take them down after the new year’s celebrations? Decorations & all the trimmings make the house look festive & fun…for a while, but then they start to look drab & dingy & it’s time to move ’em on out.

I’ve been inching my way, packing it in. Wreaths are down & the red is off the porch. I was getting a little tired of seeing red to be honest, I’ve still got a ways to go yet, but it’s a start. I took the obvious Christmas stuff down from the bathroom which is normal since its the first to come out.

This is the first year that I’m embracing all of the teal & silver new years decorations. I just placed a few on a wreath for the porch. I don’t do contemporary, so I’m mixing it with a little burgundy here & there. I’m almost liking it.

I’m also resisting the urge to buy any of the end of the year 75% off items to pack away for next year.

Have you already returned your house to its normal status? When do you usually do it?

One of the most courageous things you can do is identify yourself, know who you are, what you believe in, and where you want to go. ~ Sheila Murray Bethel

