I haven’t been slacking here… I’ve been working hard on the family tree. I have managed to find one or two more sprouts here and there. I tried feverishly; once again to find any family that could be linked to John Franklin Reed with those children (any ages) I had always assumed that since his name appeared at the bottom of the list – that he was the baby. I recently tried to change my thinking on the subject and am trying different ages for all the names.  I’ve looked at 1000’s of Census records and none seem to be right. I researched every “Reed” that ever set foot in LaFollette, Tennessee. If he truly was born there, then he should be a descendant of Joseph it Elisha Reed. Joseph should be Elisha’s father but I’ve checked everywhere and people seem to think it’s some other guy. So who knows? I just don’t have the time to swing off that tree much these days.

I did find one Phoebe Reed that married an undetermined Shelton with two sons. She claimed three but I didn’t find the other one. It should have been an OH YEAH! Kind of moment, but not, since there seemed to be a Phoebe Jane Reed same age living in the area. I’m still hoping a REED family researcher will turn something up. God knows I’m not having any luck.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m still hoping that Ron will mail me a copy of his new Adkins book so I can see who I missed and where. I may have to try to find a copy the hard way. But I really like a hand signed addition. Hint… hint… maybe even with a nice quote inside. I’m practical to Robert Frost these days.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We just celebrated my oldest grandson’s 10th birthday. Where has the time gone? He got a cell phone for his b~day. My have times changed. We got him fedora, with matching shorts belt & wallet – a tee shirt w/ Yoda on it. He’ll have to figure out who that is. LOL Steven got him (I paid for) a video game & some odd kind of cards. I didn’t even ask. We were surrounded by a huge flock of duck and geese on an extremely windy day but he had a nice party at Smith Park. I can’t wait to see him in it… He’ll be stylin’ & profilin’ !

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My house still isn’t sold, it was suppose to close last Friday but they’ve hit a little snag, so I’m not packing, yet. I’ll have to get back with you on that one as well. It seems like everything is a little up in the air right now.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Anthony bought me a two year old Chinese Pug named Suki. She is a sweetie. We all know that I’m a Cocker Spaniel person and Anthony is a German Sheppard, so why he bought a Pug??? – I have no clue. He said that I needed her. She won’t leave my side; she sleeps at my feet most of the time. I’m just trying to get her on my schedule, this 4:00 a.m. potty business has to stop. I need my sleep. Anthony left for Columbus this morning at 4:30 a.m.  So we’ve been up every since. Well, I have been, she’s sleeping here beside me.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m trying to get through a few emails here and there and scribe a few of my own…

I just sent an email to Amy Ellen Adkins of California; she’s the Great Granddaughter of Eli Adkins – Jasper’s brother.  I’m including a copy of it here.

You have a lot of people on here… stop by my tree when you get a chance and it should help clean some of this up. Census records tend to be wrong – a lot. Zettie C was a son, not Lettie a daughter. He worked in lab in 1937 according to his gas bill. Eli was still alive in 1937 and maybe 1939 if he is Eliz Adkins. I’m checking on that now.

I did use your information on * Ollie Belle Mathews. I hadn’t added her to the tree. There are many misconceptions on this end of the tree.

I’m still compiling it. I’ve been working on this tree for many years. Lewis Adkins & Julian Blankenship were my Great-Great Grandparents. Jasper & Eli were brothers. They took the Indian Train in 1906 to Ardmore, Carter, Oklahoma.

My Papaw Kell was Jasper’s son. My dad was Willie Louis Adkins. I found your tree today and was curios as to how you were related so I did a little investigating (swinging off your tree) and found out. You’re the daughter of my third cousin. So that makes you a third cousin – once removed.

If you stop by my tree, that should clear up a few if your mistakes. And maybe you can clean up those of mine that you find.

I still need a family for Juanita/Waunita. I’m trying to use Facebook to find those. Do you have any ideas? As far as her family goes down the line? So far, no contact has been made.

I haven’t found a marriage for Zettie C. He and his sister Edna were born to Mary Belle Stamper. Eli liked women named Mary for some reason. Zettie said his mother was a Gullet for the same reason that William Ray Cyrus aka Billy Ray Cyrus says that his mom is an Adkins from KY. When she divorced his dad the governor and married Cletus Adkins. When she is actually a Casto.

That should clear that one up. She was a “Stamper.” See my tree for her parents.

It took a lot of research for me to get that one myself. I thought, dang, how many times did he marry? But nope, so far just these. As for Mary Jackson, the family swears he married her, but I’ve never found any proof of it.

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~kymorgan/marriageab.html This is a list of the Adkins marriages in just Morgan. Eli married in Magoffin but it does show Lewis to Julian and some of the other brothers. They were all living in Magoffin when they decided to sell everything they had and go to Ardmore. I do have the link to his marriage to Mary Montgomery in Magoffin.

In 1937 Ardmore Buford & Curtis are living with Eli and claim to be musicians. Zettie’s claims to work in a lab. I still don’t know what Zettie is short for and I guess we’ll never know. Unless, Ardmore comes up with a lot of newspaper clippings. Their city burnt down twice so all records have been destroyed. Just our luck.

Volley T & Josie are living near and Josie work’s in a Laundromat.

You can check my blog for more family info…
Sheila Jean Adkins Metcalf

https://adkinsmetcalffamily.wordpress.com/

There are links there to all of the family info…

see link to Indians: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~kyjohnso/IndianTrainride.htm

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

That’s about it for my life – with style… It’s just Pajama-style lately. If I don’t have to leave home, I’m not going to. But for now…  I’m going to shower and clean up. Maybe go out for dinner. Suki is still trying to adjust to being left at home in the cage as apposed to taking her with me every place I go. She’ll have to figure it out soon. Cause it’s a dog’s life for her.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I wanted to plug the Cabell, West Virginia website. From which almost all of of ancestors past,  which recently posted an invitation to a ceremony that honored Ottie Adkins along with Bob Bailey as a “Distinguished West  Virginian” on March 17, 2010 at a 3:30 p.m. The ceremony was hosted by the Governor Joe Manchin III that was held in the City of Huntington’s Council Chambers. Attended by Mayor Kim Wolfe and Reverend Jerry Warren, Pastor of the Fellowship Baptist Church,  Barboursville, WV.

I only wish I could have been there to find out about Ottie Adkins and to hear him speak. Maybe, I’ll write him a letter or give him a call just to hear his side of the story. I’m sure there is a great tale to be told there. Congratulation from all of us to you Ottie Adkins on such a great accomplishment.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

PS: To Carolyn Mae Pigg:  I haven’t forgot you.  I can’t find where you’ve sent me your family tree information, so I’m trying to figure out just how you went up the tree to Sarah Adkins d/o John & Nancy McCarty Adkins to Jesse Jordan s/o William & Lucy Stith Jordan. That is a serious amount of people between now and 1795 to try to copy info on.

I can’t send anyone my file because I have too many LIVE people with addresses and personal information with notes and the dirt on (so to speak) that would not be good.  I’ll see what I can do.  But hey, it was a lot of fun the first time and you may enjoy going back to see what you may have missed in recompiling the information.

Lots of Luck and Best Wishes,
Sheila Jean Adkins Metcalf

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Ollie Belle Mathews (1918-1999) married Buford Willie Adkins (1913-1998) the son of Eli Adkins  in 1936 in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. They moved to, then lived and died in  Pomona, Los Angeles, CA and had Terry Glen Adkins. I believe they had three other children, but I don’t have the names of any other children.

Most of Ardmore, Oklahoma burnt twice so they’re posting the gas bills and phone list from the 30’s so that you’ll know who was there. Now my hats off Oklahoma for their initiative.  With limited information, they’re going that extra mile and I for one am thrilled.

Okay it’s back to the grind and I would like to say to you… Amy Ellen Adkins… Welcome to the Family!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I –
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
(“The Road Not Taken” by Robert Frost)

