Did you have a female ancestor who made the news? Why? Was she famous or notorious? Did she appear in the social column?

Honestly, I can’t think of any… maybe the Parker branches of the tree can boast of  Bonnie Parker, but I can’t hang her on the tree anywhere. Not so far anyway. Please correct me if I’m wrong here but Grandma Mitha seems to be the only famous matriarch of this family and she is shrouded in a cloak of mystery. We only wish she had appeared in any paper besides a will.

I think it’s fair to say that there are no celebrities or notable women amongst this Surname brood. They’re only famous in the eyes of their children and grandchildren.

So maybe it’s time we got out there and did something great. I’m still working on that Nobel Peace Prize… like it’s hard. Maybe, if I arrange the largest Adkins Family Reunion this country has ever seen; it could me.

Our fore-mothers worked hard and lived right so their greatest accomplishments were raising children and keeping a home. The world isn’t going to write any articles about that, well maybe now an article on TLC, doubtful. But in my book, that is an amazing job; one worth writing about. Worth my time to tell our future generations about.  My Grandma was the one that cooked all day, never complained and was proud of everything I did. They should put that in the paper.

Someone here has to make History some day. Maybe it will be you.

There is no real excellence in this world which can be separated from right living. ~ David Starr Jordon

