I’ve been asked this question so many times, and I’m not sure really why it matters what products I use? I think everyone is different and they should find the things that make them happy and work for their own particular needs. But here it is in a nutshell:

Skincare: I use so many different things its not even funny. For many years, I swore by Mary Kay, but then I got wrinkles. So that was out. I love Dr. Denese and L’Oreal products and H2O water-activated eye makeup remover, among others. On the cheap: Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser For All Skin Types, Dove bar soap, Cetaphil moisturizing lotion, St. Ives Apricot Scrub or Mint Julep masque, OLAY regenerist detoxifying pore scrub and L’Oreal Hydrafresh Toner and yes I still use a few MK items.

Cosmetics

  1. Skin Optimizer: Laura Geller: Spackle
  2. L’Oreal Visible Lift Eye Neutralizer (yellow) and or L’Oreal concealer 1-2-3- light or Air Wear long wear concealer.
  3. Foundation: L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable #2 for winter and #3 for summer. (Visible Lift – nude beige)
  4. Hydration Mist: Evian Spray Brumisateur Mineral Water or Mist & Fix by Makeup Forever (will help to set any makeup and help it stay through the day).
  5. Blush: Laura Geller (nude or early dawn) L’Oreal true match W1-2 bare honey or W3-4 and some Models Prefer or Mary Kay nutmeg.
  6. Pressed Powder: L’Oreal #3 buff nude powder usually, among many others. I do like Models Prefer yellow powder and use it.
  7. Brushes: Model’s Prefer and or Ecotools
  8. Lashes: Andrea ModLash or Ardells (rarely, if ever use)
  9. Eyeliner/defining pencil: Laura Geller: Limestone and/or Line Intensive Extreme liquid liner or L’Oreal lineur in carbon black.
  10. Shadows: Laura Geller, Tova, L’Oreal, Models Prefer, Sally’s, far too many but list but mostly neutrals.
  11. Eye Brighteners: Yves Saint Laurent Touche, Mally Beauty Light Wand Eye Brightener or the cheap Revlon/matte luxurious color kohl eyeliner crayon. Use only on the inside V of your eye and under your brow line.
  12. Brows: Models Prefer automatic eye pencil – taupe or Revlon Brow Fantasy in dark blonde. W&W brow liner in taupe, only in a pinch.
  13. Mascara: Favorites I buy are: Great Lashes in Very Black, L’Oreal Voluminous or Lash Architec 3-D. I have 25 tubes or more that were free from Clinique, Lancôme, and others with their specials. (You should never have to buy an eye shadow, lipstick or mascara ever, if you buy the gift with purchase and you’ll get a free tote).
  14. Laura Geller – Opt/Lusion or Models Prefer Morganite
  15. Lip Pencil: Bobbi Brown – tawny or Model’s Prefer and many others mostly nudes to chocolate
  16. Lipstick/Gloss: Too many to list here, favorites are Dr. Denese Peach Lip Firm Gloss with SPF 15 and anything by L’Oreal
    • Colour Juice Sheer Lip Gloss: Strawberry Smoothie or Watermelon
    • Color: L’Oreal Colour Riche Lipcolour,Toasted Almond or #250 Make me blush (Rose Mauve)
    • Estée Lauder:  double wear stay in place lipstick
    • In a pinch… Rimmel: #70 Airy Fairy and Carmex lip balm although Mary Kay has the best lip gloss/balm ever made, in my opinion. I have 100’s of freebies.
  17. Nail Polish: Caffeinated 570 or Goldy Lucks 560 (rarely ever paint my nails, I love the clean, just buffed look)
  18. Deodorant: Powder Fresh Ban
  19. Fragrance: Red Door, Celine Dion, Tova Nights and all product samples – love samples.

Hair care: Vive Pro Color Vive Gloss, L’Oreal Mega Spritz, Nick Chavez, BedHead: Maxxed-Out, Redken Cat Protein Reconstructing Treatment. Among others.

I would show you a picture of my make up drawers and vanity, but it scares me, so that’s out.  I do appreciate all of your compliments and being asked. I do have to admit that, it was nice when my sisters dermatologist told me that I had beautiful skin. And at my age, soon to be 48 (my birthday is Monday, thanks for asking) its very nice to hear.  Whenever he looked at me… I was thinking, he was getting ready to say, “You’re next!” LOL

Cosmetics and Hair Care products don’t have to be expensive to work. In the long run, what a product contains depends on the individual product not the price. I have yet to find an ingredient manufacturer or cosmetic chemist to show me research or evidence proving otherwise. In the case of Kerastase, they’re owned by L’Oreal. L’Oreal offers some outstanding hair-care products at the drugstore, including many whose ingredient lists are nearly identical to those in the Kerastase line. Do you really think they’re using inferior, cheap ingredients in their namesake line and only saving the good stuff for their salon brands? And if that was the case, as a consumer, why would you respect them?

Have a great day and feel free to share your Tips and Tricks, Specials and/or FREEBIES with me. I love trying new things and I hope you do as well. I want to hear from you.

There shall be an Eternal summer in the grateful heart. ~ Celia Thaxter

