I really could use some help here…

When I was going through some old notes and trying to clean house as it were, tossing out old, outdated or useless notes, I came across a little quip that I couldn’t remember if I had emailed to my Uncle Denny. We share a similar passion for research.

The note was as follows: That Grandma Teareasy Montgomery Adkins aka Teresa and Mrs. Murphy were next door neighbors and that Ma & Pa Murphy raised Druza after Teresa’s death. Her death was due to a cow kicking her in the stomach.

So, I sent it off to my uncle with a little note attached: I can’t remember if I sent you that or not. I was tossing out some old notes and didn’t want to lose this one.

To that his response was…

No, but I’m glad you did. Have you had a chance to look at the Reed’s books and see if you could connect the 2 Reed family. Denny

I emailed back with…

Not as much as I’d like to. I have emailed Magoffin County & Lafollette County for records… nothing new there. No hits on the Reed family at my blog – not sure why – I guess no one is looking.  Magoffin archives man – I guess made a mistake because he told me that Ursula Dolsbury was a Reed and she was actually a Davis according to readers on my blog, so the tie in must be daughter Catherine Dolsbury Cook Reed – married a Cook – then William Reed. But he married into the family late so he must not be the link between the two either. All Reed families tie into one another – just have to figure out how and when. They both ended up in the same area which seems to indicates a relationship and I will keep looking. I’m trying to find out where in LaFollette they ended up. No luck finding the older John Franklin’s children – even with the Shelton tie in. No rest for the weary.

I could really use some help here. If any of the Reed family researchers have anything new to add, would you please email me at vvsfan@msn.com

Thanks as always,
Sheila Jean Adkins Metcalf