The state of my health:
a. How have I been feeling lately?
b. What have I said to others about how I feel?
c. When was my last physical exam?
d. What is physically or psychologically effecting me?

My present circumstances:
a. Am I behind in my work?
b. Have the children been ill?
c. Have guests contributed to getting behind in my work?
d. What problems in the family or business finances are causing me to worry?
e. Am I overloaded with out-of-the-home activities?

My spiritual relationship:
a. How much time do I spend reading the Bible?
b. How much time do I spend in prayer?
c. What things am I worrying about instead of praying?
d. What promises have I made to God in the past that I am not keeping?
e. What circumstances in my life are making me angry with God, or have I refused to accept with the proper spirit?
f. Am I falling into the trap of self-pity or depression?

Have I checked for self-defeating patterns?
a. What has been said (or done) to me which makes me feel sorry for myself?
b. About what past or present problems am I holding a grudge?
c. Toward what people am I bitter?
d. What is making me “touchy” or irritable?
e. Toward what people or about what circumstances would I like to “explode”?

(1) When I feel like exploding:
(a) Take ten deep breaths, increasing intake of oxygen to burn off excess adrenalin.
(b) Think objectively: Is it true?
(c) Consider the source, but don’t rationalize.
(d) Concentrate on listening; criticism can be a sign of progress.
(e) Remember that backbiting adds fuel to the fire.
(f) Guard again repaying evil for evil.
(g) Be humble – we all make mistakes.

(2) How to turn explosive situations into constructive, beneficial ones:
(a) Be understanding (try to identify elements in a person’s background or make-up that makes them act like this.
(b) Make allowances when you can’t understand.
(c) Be patient.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“I wish you sunshine on your path and storms to season your journey. I wish you peace in the world in which you live… More I cannot wish you except perhaps love to make all the rest worthwhile.” ~ Robert A. Ward

