lots of little hump-day ditties

Today is Brandy Jean’s big 28th B-day! I called and wished her the greatest B-day ever. She said Tiger took her to a wine tasting for her B-day on Saturday. She said that she doesn’t feel guilty with just tasting. I told her whatever helps her sleep at night. LOL She also said that Allie was just too cute. She refused to share her snacks with a male crawler (tongue-in-cheek) at the sitters yesterday, she scooted to the back of the table where he couldn’t reach them. She is the complete opposite of Averi. They usually are.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Christine’s 28th was back on the 19th and we coupled her celebration with our 30th at the Cheesecake Factory; very nice. She is contemplating moving back to the OC on Monday. She is still in school here and doing quite well but just isn’t finding another place to live. I hope she sticks around. You know I can’t remember when my 28th was back on. I remember that I was pregnant with Steven when I was 28. LOL

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Anyway, Tere is in town… I hope to see her for a minute or two before she gets out of dodge. It could happen. J

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Uncle Denny is just back from New York. I think he just forgot where he lives. He may end up with Chronic Jet Lag soon. Germany, Cali, Ohio, New York… I think he needs to get a job and settle down. LOL

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1st cousin once or twice removed Jack Reed died December 23, 2008. I really enjoyed talking with him. He will be missed.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s really coming down out there… but I still plan on hanging my hummingbird feeders outside today. I may invest in a few new feeders this year. I used to boil the sugar and water and add red food coloring but I never do that anymore. An experienced hummingbird person told me just to mix the sugar with the water until it dissolves and put in the feeder; they will drink it. He said, “Look what they eat in the wild!” Well okay! I will clean and fill them and hang them out… I do love those hummingbirds. They are wonderful to watch… even when they fly straight up to my face in the evening and in fear of losing an eye. LOL

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Too much too do to-day, I am still trying to catch up on things from this vacation. I need to cut the ivy off the front of the house. I killed a Ginkgo tree today. It was so slow in growing and looked awful so I just walked over and snapped it off at the base. I have two trees that were severely damaged from the last big storm we had I may have to take them out as well. Well see. Weeds free for the pulling.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I spent all day working on my tree yesterday. Adding peeps and removing even more. I had a huge problem deciding which Agnes Polly Adkins – Polly really married David Polly and since there is no definite way to know if she was the daughter of William V Sr or Jr… I just decided it was more likely she was the daughter of Jr due to where she ended up. This may send shock waves around the world but until we have conclusive proof… she will be remain the daughter if William V Adkins Jr. on my tree.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I also worked a little on the Gibson family tree yesterday and bit this morning. I love working on it. “Granny Gibson (Oma – not my real granny but Tammy’s, her mom’s mom) was such a special person. I remember spending the summer with her; lots and lots of little stories. Granny chained smoked, she lite her next cigarette off the last. She sat at the kitchen table for hours and drank coffee with liquid diet sweeter, all day long listening to Hank Sr and other classic country songs, holding a dirty fly swatter that she would swat you with in a second if you acted up. She loved cocoa-poodles and making her own kraut and burying it in the inside of her garage.” I realized I had a few mistakes on that tree, as well. Not really mistakes just omissions.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I also signed the guestbook at the Middletown Journal and sent the obit link to family and friends for “Uncle Al” yesterday; rarely does a month go by that his name isn’t mentioned for some reason or other. I don’t think he knew what an impact he had on our generation. Uncle Denny said: “I watched his show when I was younger. Hassel bought this new TV that was black and white with a 10 inch screen. We were in heaven.” (He’s too funny – I love him too) We’ll always be singing Zipity do da – zipity ay, my oh my, what a wonderful day, plenty of sunshine, headin’ my way! No matter how long it rains. He will truly, be missed.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

FTGH: Kane is still “Free to a Good Home” one large beautiful full blooded black and tan Siberian husky with matching eyes. Kane hates the rain. He howls like he’s dying… about once every hour – just to hear himself think, I guess. He needs a friend. Craigie came home from school the other day and told me that Kane is famous. He said, “Kane is in every animal book in my school library.” No, I didn’t have the heart to tell him.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The trash man didn’t take my trash again today, we are going to fight. He pulls this stuff about once a month. Sorry good for nothing. I may have Kiley bite him next week. LOL Oh yeah, she’s always been free to a good home too. For 10 years now… they just keep bring her back. She comes with an SSI check. LOL We had a huge laugh last week; two girls tried to dog nap her. They were brazen enough to pull into my driveway to get her. She wouldn’t go with them. I said, “Those stupid – stupid girls, if they had only knocked on the door, I would have given her to them.” Well what Forrest said, Stupid is…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Steven has Prom this weekend so wish us luck. Gots to get the tux… on the ready. I will plan the largest Gradation party ever known to man. (O’ not for him- for me… I’m done! Last one… all in and all done!!!) He has an eye appt today at 4:20 p.m. his contacts aren’t clear??? Whatever that means… but yesterday was the 60th day so you know it would be today.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well that is the highlights of my week. I do hope you all take a few minutes to get your hummingbird feeders out and hung today or tomorrow. They need to be out there by the 1st.

HUMMINGBIRD FOOD

1 part sugar to 4 parts water
Boil the water first, then measure and add sugar, at the rate of 1/4 cup of sugar to 1 cup of water.
Let cool and store excess in refrigerator until ready to use.
Do not add food coloring, honey (which ferments), or artificial sweetener, which has no nutritional value.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lastly, I have a question for you:

How does red and black… make blonde? DNA?

Have a great weekend!

