Punchbowl Cake

Ingredients

 

    * 1 box white or pineapple cake mix

    * 3 eggs, for the cake

    * 3 tablespoons vegetable oil

    * 1 box instant vanilla pudding mix

    * 2 cups milk, for the pudding

    * 2 cans cherry pie filling

    * 2 cans crushed pineapple, drained (usually 15-16 oz)

    * 1 cup chopped pecans

    * 1 (16 oz) tub whipped topping

    * 1 big punchbowl

 

Directions

 

Bake cake as directed on the box. Let cool. Crumble ½ of cake in bottom of punch bowl.  Mix vanilla pudding as directed and pour ½ over the cake. Drain 1 can pineapple and spread over pudding.  Then spread 1 can cherry pie filling over pineapple. Spread ½ of whipped topping over cherry pie filling. Sprinkle with ½ c chopped pecans. Then crumble the other part of the cake over the nuts and repeat with the other ½ of the pudding, pineapple, cherry pie filling and topping. Sprinkle remaining ½ c pecans over the top.

Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate at least 4-6 hours before serving.

 

After that…ENJOY!!!

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s so good!!!

 

This is one of my all time favorite desserts to take to linger longer or dinner on the ground. You can make it the day before and it’s ready to go. I can’t even remember who gave me the recipe, it’s so old. The funny part is that I found it two days ago when I was showing Mandy a recipe I absolutely love for Dessert Gelatine (*see below) in an old Diet Workshop Recipe File book that I have had for at least 20 years. I have no idea how long they have been out of business??? LOL This recipe paper fell out of their book. It was folded in half with a recipe for Frozen Punch penciled in on the other side of the page. I must have asked one of the older ladies for their recipe at some point and being the troopers those old gals were; they complied. Almost all have gone home now, but their memories and recipes live on.  I would love to get that old recipe from Diane Calton for her late mom Bernice Phipps’, old watermelon ice cream jello dessert. Not sure what she called it but it was sugar-free and wonderful. She was diabetic and she could eat it. I’ll give Diane a call later and ask for it. I’ll keep you posted on how that turns out. LOL

 

Anyway, I haven’t made this cake recipe myself for several years now but I plan to serve it on Monday for my Anniversary party. Yes, I’m still plugging it. LOL As long as I quoted this dessert gelatine recipe I thought I’d add it here as well. It’s a twofer. I used to eat this stuff everyday, when I was a size 8. It was so easy to make and I loved it. I think maybe I should start making it again; now that I’m a size 10. LOL It would have to be better for me than all the candy I’ve been consuming lately. I refuse to become a size 12.

 

Note: Hey, what’s with Word saying there is no “e” on Gelatine; that is the way it’s spelled in the Diet Workshop cookbook??? Somebody check the spelling on the little orange box today and get back to me. LOL

 

*DESSERT GELATINE

1 Packet of Unflavored Gelatine – 2 cups No-Cal Diet Soda, any flavor (I use berry)

Soften gelatin in ½ cup of soda for two minutes. Add one cup of hot soda and stir until gelatin is dissolved. Add remaining ½ cup of soda and chill. (Unlimited)

