is anyone celebrating a wedding/anniversary this June? Have you already attended a wedding this month? If your anniversary is in June, how many years have you been married?

  • Name or describe briefly your spouse (or partner) – age, appearance, work, interests, etc.
  • Note when & where you got married. In a few words describe the ceremony, who attended, where you went on your honeymoon, and any other factual highlights from that day, the ceremony itself, and the preparations for it.

Anthony & I had a simple wedding (on the spur of the moment – really & no, I wasn’t expecting). We were married in the living room of the house Anthony was born in Springboro, but it had a Franklin address. The house itself had undergone some serious changes, but it was the same house. I bought a twenty dollar white dress from Kmart and we exchanged two dollar rings from Hills Department Store (both stores are gone now). That’s why I decided that for our 35th Wedding Anniversary Vow Renewal to do it up right. I’ve had two different sets of rings since our original set. I can tell you about those later. The set I wear now he gave me for Christmas one year. So sweet. I love them, so when he asked me if I wanted a new set for our renewal, I said, “no.” When he first proposed to me, he was so adorable. I that couldn’t have said no, even if I had wanted to & I didn’t. It was a decision that I have never regretted.Every marriage undergoes its troubles and trails, but you never give up on each other.

When & how did you and your mate decide to get married? Was it love at first sight? Or did a friendship develop into love? Was there a formal proposal? Did you (the future groom) ask your future father-in-law for permission to marry? Was there an engagement ring or symbol of intent? Did you live together before getting married? How long was your engagement?

Anthony & I were engaged two weeks after we “officially” introduced (we had had a couple brief encounter but not really introduced) at his brother’s house & he later proposed in their driveway.  His brother’s wife had introduced us. I was her babysitter. She also happens to be my sister’s sister-in-law. [This is how most relationships form. That’s why its critical to find each family member of three generations on both sides of a relationship when doing genealogy, because they will introduce new people & tend to intermarry. I find it will save you so much time by entering it as soon as you find it. That way, you don’t have to backup and figure out the link later. ] Our first date was to the Dayton Mall (in Miamisburg) . Anthony later, took me to the same mall to pick out an engagement ring. I chose a tiny little white gold diamond ring from Rogers Jewelers. I showed it off like it was 10 carats. I still have it in my jewelry box today. I had a diamond jacket soldered to it and it caused the back to break off. I thought of having it reset, but I still love it just the way it is, so it will stay that way. Sentimental reasons. Our wedding we discuss at another date. It was an event unto itself.

Do you recall your wedding and all the preparations leading up to it? Who did what? Was it fairly straight forward or complicated?

Tell us about it!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Married in January’s roar and rime,
Widowed you’ll be before your prime
Married in February’s sleepy weather,
Life you’ll tread in time together
Married when March winds shrill and roar,
Your home will lie on a distant shore
Married ‘neath April’s changeful skies,
A chequered path before you lies
Married when bees o’er May blossoms flit,
Strangers around your board will sit
Married in month of roses June,
Life will be one long honeymoon
Married in July with flowers ablaze,
Bitter-sweet memories in after days
Married in August’s heat and drowse,
Lover and friend in your chosen spouse
Married in September’s golden glow,
Smooth and serene your life will go
Married when leaves in October thin,
Toil and hardships for you begin
Married in veils of November mist,
Fortune your wedding ring has kissed
Married in days of December’s cheer,
Love’s star shines brighter from year to year.